Skip to content

My Girlfriend

March 28, 2012

She loves Mickey Mouse, but especially Goofy. I love how she cracks up at his clumsy attempts to remember how to say “Mousketools,” he can never get it right! And despite my best efforts to instill some Tomboy in her, she loves all things princess more and more every day. She comes home and changes into either Rapunzel or Snow White costume, and loves to walk out and pose for me to tell her low lovely she looks. Lately she’s obsessed with any dress, though, foregoing her jeans and even comfy pants so she can wear a dress or skirt to school every day.

She loves to draw hearts and cut out hearts to give to loved ones, whether family or preschool friends. She even drew a heart for Ronnie and I, found some tape, and taped it on the wall above our headboard.

She still loves to snuggle or hang out on my lap, and asked to every day. I say “this is my favorite thing,” and she says “me too.” When she goes to bed at night, we have a tradition of talking about what we did that day, sometimes goofing around, I scratch her back (she says I do it the best of Daddy and her Grandma’s), and then hug, kiss, hi-five, and goodnight.

We listen to the radio every day in the car on the way to work/preschool, and if a song either of us loves comes on the radio, I peek at her in the rearview mirror, and her eyes light up while we celebrate the excitement of hearing a favorite song. If I forget to make eye contact with her, she calls me out on it.

We stay up late to watch movies together, starting Pirates of the Caribbean and Horton Hears a Who even after 10 pm. She stays awake till the end as I fight to keep from knodding off.

I love the relationship we have – she’s my little friend. She makes me crazy sometimes, but in the end, seeing her smile makes every trial worthwhile. I hope we always have this.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    March 29, 2012 1:19 am

    It’s so sweet to read this and see the love you two share. Thanks for sharing a glimpse into yours and Skyler’s life–what a blessing!

  2. Maria permalink
    March 29, 2012 2:57 pm

    Love the precious moments. Makes me smile!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

