Skip to content

To My Life Changer

July 30, 2012

Lately, every time I find a few spare moments and decide to write a blog post in that time, I can’t type a word. I think I’ve lost my edge for writing after all these years. I’m kinda sad…but yet the reason I can’t think of anything to write is because I’m content. Contentment brings peace, which means I am perfectly happy falling asleep. I’ve got no problems to solve or lessons to share. Nothing to prove or explain. Life is good, and I am good with that.

But today I was inspired by two separate incidents to share something. Those two things could have been related, but I’m not certain. The first was the quote “Don’t let the life changer in your day to day, go unnoticed ” (Jonathan Haynes). The second, was when a friend gave me a shout-out as one of her inspirations to become a strong healthy woman. She placed me up there with her husband and her sister-in-law, two pretty amazing people. I felt honored and humbled, to say the least. Reading her words made me realize just how much impact my actions and words have had, even if just on a single person. And even if just for her, it is a victory. It reminds me yet again of this wonderful quote: 

You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others. –Marianne Williamson

So it’s my turn to give a shout-out to my life changer, my amazing husband Ronnie. I don’t even want to think where I would be today without him. While God supplies our blessings, Ronnie has been the human driver of the joy in my life. Without him, there would be no Skyler. Her little nasal voice and silly sense of humor are music to my ears and keep me laughing. She is the wonderful little person she is not only by his blood, but by his strong presence in her life. They adore each other and it makes my heart want to burst.

He is quick witted, quick to temper, and quick to forgive and forget. I admire his ability to move on so easily after an argument, to get back on the positive track. I long to be like him in that area, which I struggle so much to do. Thank God for his patience with me, he is always waiting with a smile and a hug when I finally unshackle myself from my stubborn grudges.

He asked me at our anniversary what I loved most about him. The easy answer that I’ve always given is his sense of humor. It’s been a constant since I’ve known him. But I added a second item this time, which is something I’ve learned about him over the last couple years, and that is his tenacity and drive. He has a persistent desire to do better. He sees the potential in others and himself. That energy drove him to leave the security of a government job to join the corporate fitness industry, and then to branch out again on his own to really change lives by owning his own gym. Each and every person that walks through his door is someone he sees on the verge of change. If they will let him, his desire and talent is to show them their potential. And so many have taken that chance and found more to themselves than they ever thought possible. But on top of challenging others to be better, he walks the walk himself. His internal drive to be better is like nothing I’ve ever seen. His work ethic is unfaltering and he knows no such thing as defeat.

I think the thing that makes him so inspiring is that he holds all of us to the same standard he holds himself. He believes more than so many of us, that we are capable of so much more. As with others, he challenges me to improve, and doesn’t put up with my excuses. He knows my insecurities but doesn’t believe in them. If he did, it would make them real and binding. Instead, he accepts me and loves me for who I am now, but always helps me keep moving in the direction of who he knows I can be. And while I am inspired and continuously amazed by the impact he has on the other lives he touches, I am thankful and proud to be the luckiest one, since I can call him mine.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessie Kelley permalink
    July 30, 2012 5:38 am

    Reading this was amazing, Lori. You are both amazing people (Skylar too!) and we are all so happy you are in our lives. Ronnie is a genuine person who treats others with respect and Kevin talks about what a fabulous person he is all the time. Cora loves him and asks about you and Skylar too on a regular basis! Thanks to all the Oswald’s for their wonderfulness! Love, the Kelley Family

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

